Development Team

Development Team


Our swimmers regularly take part in competitions and we are proud of their achievements. Here are the latest news updates.


Coach's report - Lanark ASC club championships 2019



56 swimmers contested the annual Lanark ASC Club Championships finals held at the town’s South Lanarkshire Lifestyle facility.

Three swimmers set 7 new Club Championships records. In the 8 years and under age group seven year old Emily Taylor broke Erin Snow’s 2010 records in the 25m backstroke and 25m freestyle. Evi Mackie now the fastest 10 year old over 50m butterfly and 50m breaststroke in the history of the Club broke Erin Snow’s 2012 marks in the 50m butterfly, backstroke and breaststroke and Sarah Lang’s 2014 record in the 50m freestyle. The other record breaker was 13 year old Millie McArthur who shattered Maya Andrew’s 2010 100m backstroke in the 13/14 year old age group.

The 2019 Club Champions are :-

8 years and under Emily Taylor
9/10 years Evi Mackie Charlie Barnstaple
11/12 years Ayla Miller Justin Bone
13/14 years Millie McArthur Euan McLeod
15 years & over Abbigail McArthur Alistair Dunsmore

Coach Karen Kelly commented “It was fantastic to see seven records taken down. Six of them were Erin Snow’s who is one of the best swimmers Lanark has produced. If all our swimmers can match her commitment to training and produce these results not just in the comfort of a home pool Championship but on a bigger stage the future looks bright for Lanark ASC.




Coach's report - South Lanarkshire Schools, at Larkhall



Coach's report

Seventeen Lanark ASC swimmers competed for their schools at the recent South Lanarkshire Schools Swimming Championships at Larkhall Leisure Centre. The local club swimmers won 8 South Lanarkshire Schools titles, 11 silver and six bronze medals.

The new South Lanarkshire Schools Champions are Evi Mackie (St Marys PS), Katie Towers (Lanark PS), Millie McArthur (Lesmahagow HS), Alistair Dunsmore (Carluke HS) and Abbigail McArthur (Lesmahagow HS).
Full results
11 years & under
Katie Towers (Lanark PS)
1st 50m breaststroke, 1st 50m freestyle, 2nd 50m backstroke
Evi Mackie (St Marys PS)
1st 50m butterfly, 3rd 50m backstroke
Craig Shaw (Robert Owen)
2nd 50m breaststroke


12/13 years

Abbie Barnstaple (Carluke HS)
2nd 100m butterfly

Ellarose Stewart (Lanark GS)
2nd 200m backstroke

Millie McArthur (Lesmahagow HS)
1st 100m backstroke, 1st 200m freestyle, 3rd 100m breaststroke

Justin Bone (Lanark GS)
3rd 100m butterfly

Ross Carswell (Carluke HS)
2nd 200m IM, 3rd 100m freestyle


14/15 years

Caitlyn Hamilton (Lanark GS)
2nd 100m backstroke

Anya McLaughlin (Lanark GS)
3rd 100m breaststroke
16 years & over
Lucy Jones (Carluke HS)
2nd 100m backstroke, 2nd 200m backstroke
Abbigail McArthur (Lesmahagow HS)
1st 100m backstroke, 1st 200m backstroke, 2nd 100m freestyle
Alistair Dunsmore (Carluke HS)
1st 200m breaststroke, 2nd 100m breaststroke
Connor Fallon (Lanark GS)
2nd 200m breaststroke, 3rd 200m IM

Coach's report - Fauldhouse ASC Eian Prentice Memorial Meet



Twenty young Lanark ASC swimmers made the short journey to Whitburn to compete for the first time in the annual Fauldhouse
ASC Eian Prentice Memorial Meet.

The young swimmers competed well returning 30 personal best times. Ten year old Evi Mackie won all her five event
and there was also gold medal performances from Emily Taylor (7) and Katie Towers (11). Eleven year old Craig
Shaw won silver and 4 to 6 th place medals went to Erin Purdon, Erin Lammie and Calum MacDonald. All the
medallists posted new best ever times as did Orlaith Jeffrey, Jessica Pratt, Eilidh Smith, Lucy Taylor, Robbie
McDairmant, Holly Fell, Isla Jones, Luke Devlin and Alastair McDairmant.

After the Meet coach Karen Kelly said “It was our first visit to the Eian Prentice Memorial Meet and it won’t be our
last. It was great to see so many good swims from our team.”


Coach's Report: Peebles Stars of the Future Meet – 27 October 2019



25 young Lanark ASC swimmers travelled to the borders for the annual Peebles Stars of the future meet. The squad ages ranging from eight to twelve won 49 top 6 awards.

Leading the charge were gold medalists Alastair McDairmant (3), Ian Henderson and Casey Thomson. Other medalists were Erin Purdon, Orlaith Jeffrey, Ruth Maxfield, Blair Beverly, Owen Lawson, Robbie McDairmant, Cora Johnstone, Holly Fell, Isla Jones, Ryan Allan, Luke Devlin, Malcolm Ormrod, Islay Cathcart, Roisin McLaughlin, Douglas Ormrod and Calum Smith. The Lanark squad set 73 new best ever times.

After the Meet coach Karen Kelly “It was a good all round effort from the squad. Many of them had only ever competed at Lanark or at the SL Development Meets at Larkhall. It was another learning curve for them.”

Coach's report - West District JAGs Short Course Championships


Lanark ASC provided 2 medalists at the West DIstrict Junior Age Group Championships held at Tollcross International Swimming Centre.

13 year old Millie McArthur was 2nd in the 100m backstroke, 3rd in the 100m butterfly and 4th in both the 100m and 800m freestyle and 5th in the 400m IM. Justin Bone (12) was 3rd in the 1500m. 

New personal best marks were set by Abbie Barnstaple, Katie Towers, Ross Carswell and Ayla Miller.

Coach Karen Kelly commented after the Championships “Well done to both Millie and Justin but Ayla and Ross also deserve a special mention for their sterling efforts. They posted 15 personal bests between them. We are in the middle of a heavy competition programme which runs to mid November.